God doesn’t call the qualified, he qualifies the called

I had an amazing conversation with a friend today about living in faith and believing God has a plan for each of us.  She has an idea of something big she can invent that will be beneficial for her workplace.  I’m sorry to say that I don’t even know what this “thing” is because really, that wasn’t the important part of the conversation.  What we discussed is how easy it is to have a great idea, be all passionate about it and excited to take it on as a huge goal, but then the next minute doubt that we’re capable.  The same thing has happened to me.  Most recently, it’s about writing a book.  God put that desire in my heart a long time ago and has recently given me a renewed sense that now is the time.  But all along this path, I have fought messages of my ability.  Am I good enough to write a book?  Will anyone read it?  Is there a need?  Why me?

My friend is asking herself similar questions about the idea swimming around in her head.  Is she qualified?  Is she good enough?  Can she do it?

What is it about us that when we’re faced with huge opportunities, we oftentimes question whether we’re the right one for the job? 

I have long acknowledged that I am riding God’s wave of purpose in my life right now.  Knowing where I have come from and the person I was even five years ago, why would I doubt that God will continue crafting me and molding me into a person capable of reaching another goal?  Do I think that maybe this is the time that He’s really missed the mark and he’s got the wrong person?

The good news is that one very definite thing I have learned on this journey is that anything is possible.  God has greater plans for us than we have for ourselves and no matter where He takes us, He will teach us.  We are all created so differently with different talents, interests and desires.  If something burns in your heart, go for it!  You are uniquely wired to do it!  Start taking small steps that will set you in the direction of your totally far off goal.  Begin to dream about what God might have for you.  Allow yourself to believe that you will change, learn and grow to become the person capable of reaching the goal that is the passion of your heart.

One of my favorite quotes is “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called.”  Once we start believing that and putting our faith in it, there are no boundaries.  The only limit to what is possible is what we choose to believe.

2 thoughts on “God doesn’t call the qualified, he qualifies the called

  1. Divinely Designed says:

    I just wanted to let you know how much your thoughts encouraged me. I was searching the internet for scriptures that relate to the phrase you referenced, “God does not call the qualified…” and I stumbled onto this blog. Glory to God! Your statement (testimony) sounds so similar to a conversation that I was just having with a good friend of mine. Holy Spirit has inspired me to write a book and I got so discouraged just this past weekend because I was having a hard time with gathering my thoughts. A friend of mine has a calling to do ministry for women and she was saying how she wonders how she can do ministry with all the problems that she has experienced. That’s when I reminded her about that expression. Reading your thoughts encourages me to push on with the books that I have in me – they will be birthed soon. And to continue to encourage my friend.
    God bless you.
    DDP

  2. Andrew says:

    Thank you Deanna for still having this online. I am not sure if you are still active on your blog, but am glad to have read your thoughts on “God qualifying us”…it is because of God that we can do anything. I was doing some sermon prep on God’s Calling on our lives and came across your blog. With your permission, you may be helping me preach to my congregation and youth group in the near future. Thanks.

    Andrew Saunders
    Bethel Temple Pentecostal Church
    Canada

Leave a Reply

